Fujifilm X Pro1 meets Melbourne Australia


My last visit to Melbourne was full of dark and gloomy scenes. As I walked the streets in the blanket of rain I managed to capture the little amount of available light using the Fujifilm X Pro 1 handheld. It was the camera and me. What more could a traveller want?

Usually I would be carrying around my Canon 1D MKIV with a wide angle or even a prime to shoot a bustling city however the ease and portability of the X Pro 1 allowed for a more enjoyable travelling experience. Compared to my Canon I was amazed at the image quality – especially with the higher ISO settings.

Simply put I’m glad that there is a professional camera out there that fits my travelling needs. All the below images were photographed shooting RAW and edited in Adobe Lightroom 4.

Fujifilm X Pro 1 – ISO 2500 – 35mm – f1.4 – 1/170sec – Split Toning in Adobe Lightroom 4.

 

Fujifilm X Pro 1 – ISO 800 – 35mm – f4.5 – 1/150 sec – Split Toning in Adobe Lightroom 4.

 

Fujifilm X Pro 1 – ISO 800 – 35mm – f1.4 – 1/100 sec – Edited using Adobe Lightroom 4.

 

Fujifilm X Pro 1 – ISO 200 – 35mm – f1.4 – 1/350 sec – Edited in Adobe Lightroom 4.

 

Fujifilm X Pro 1 – ISO 800 – 35mm – f1.4 – 1/80 sec – Edited using Adobe Lightroom 4.

 

7 comments on “Fujifilm X Pro1 meets Melbourne Australia

  1. Anonymous says:

    looks great leigh

  2. gesperon says:

    I bought it the other day. I am impressed as much as you at the image quality and how much I now enjoy walking around with the XP1 instead of canon and it’s heavy lenses. Nice shots by the way, loved the out of focus lights. Congrats and have fun.

    • Fantastic Gabor E. Nagy. Great to see another XPro1 fan out there! I agree – I enjoy walking around with the very light and portable XPro1 instead of mountains of DSLR gear. Thanks for the comments and stopping by the blog.

  3. Gary says:

    Nice Leigh.
    I too have just had a weekend in Melbourne, complete with drizzle and fog, and my X-Pro 1, the 18 got a hiding, and the 35 nearly so. Great camera for what you (and I) used it for, really great.
    Gary

    • Thanks Gary. I’m sure that they designed the XPro1 to handle the Australia weather. The build quality is spot on. Made in Japan makes all the difference in my books. Thanks for commenting and I’m glad you aren’t afraid of taking the camera out in the elements. Keep chasing the grey skies and thanks for stopping by.

What do you think?