Carnaby’s Black Cockatoo


Over the last couple of weeks the Macadamia tree in the backyard has attracted some beautiful creatures. Sitting patiently I managed to capture a curious Carnaby last weekend.

When the flock return next weekend (guaranteed!) I hope to capture some birds feeding on the Macadamia nuts. Although at times like this I tend to put down the camera and enjoy watching the endangered birds calling and carrying on.

Until next time

Happy Shooting

7 comments on “Carnaby’s Black Cockatoo

  1. shawnhayward says:

    Gorgeous shot Leigh – He looks like he has quite a cheeky personality.

    • Thanks Shawn. I see you managed to get a nice Red Tailed Cockatoo! Hope you enjoyed your holiday down south. Wedding pics are looking great!

      • shawnhayward says:

        Cheers, yes the trip down South was perfect, I love it down there so much. Lots of beautiful landscapes and wildlife to capture. Looking forward to the wedding pics. With your mad photography skills I expect you have taken nothing short of some simply amazing shots. No rush though, I know how busy life gets lol.

  2. peta says:

    Very cute Leigh…They make a mess but I agree sometimes its fun just to watch them…

    • We had about 20 making a huge noise in the Macadamia tree last weekend. Can’t wait till they come back.
      Are you still doing the Gibb River Road/ Northern WA photo trips? Are you able to send me a link to some info? I’m looking at going on an organised photo trip next year.

      • Peta says:

        I will email you the link, yes they are going well but we only take max of seven so it gets booked quickly. It would be great to have you on board.

  3. I love these guys, even though they do watch you and drop pine cones on your head :-) nice shot

What do you think?

