What Makes A Good Black and White Photo?


 

Have you ever wondered what makes a good black and white photo?

When I photographed this Warthog in the Kruger National Park, I was anticipating the final image to be in colour however after a quick conversation to black and white in Photoshop I changed my mind.

What do you think makes a decent black and white photo? Do you think it has anything to do with the texture or is it something else. I’m still scratching my head. Please tell me the answer!
A warthog eating grass in the Kruger National Park

3 comments on “What Makes A Good Black and White Photo?

  1. I think I like the texture in this picture in black and white – I think in general, for me, it’s about making a striking contrast (but I love vibrant colour too much so haven’t really played with the idea of black and white too much)

    Where were you in the Kruger? (just curious coz I used to be in the travel industry – and probably nosy too :s)

What do you think?

