Fujifilm Digital meet Kodak Film


Today I felt a bit of a creative spark after seeing some really amazing film images.

I wanted to take a photo on the Fujifilm X-Pro 1 and try to recreate the cross processed film look similar to what you see from a sprocket rocket camera (where the developed film includes the film sprockets) so I went to the beach after work to get the idea going.

Kodak Gold 400 Stressed Film

Kodak Gold 400 Stressed Film

Previous to this I took a blank roll of 35mm Kodak Gold 400 Film lying around in the lab and I proceeded to scrunch it up to cause some creases and stress on the film. I then asked Derek my lab manager to do a high res scan of the film (including as much dust as he could).

Derek was all for the idea of trying to recreate a retro look. To this day I don’t think I have met anyone so mad about film than Derek. If you ever get the chance to go to Fremantle Camera House be sure to pick his brains! Also be sure to speak with Duncan Wright who also works at the store…you can check out Duncan’s work on Friends on Film where he is cataloging different film types both 120 and 35mm. Fremantle Camera House is one of those rare places now where you actually still get 35mm and 120 film developed! I’m not too sure if Gerry Gibbs Camera House or Leederville Camera House (Leederville Cameras) do the same service? If anyone knows please message me.

So now that I had an image and a high res scan of a blank film I simply had to work some Photoshop magic to merge the two together:

Scarborough Beach Surfer

Scarborough Beach Surfer, Fujifilm X-Pro 1 with Fujinon 35mm

Scarborough Beach Surfer on Film

The Final Result

I know that the final result may not be everyone’s cup of tea. For me all I can say is…I will never go back to film. This is the closest I will come.

Experimenting with a film texture was certainly fun and I would highly recommend doing the same!

Let me know what you think of the final image. Do you think I was able to mimic the cross processed look?

Until Next Time – Happy Shooting.

4 comments on “Fujifilm Digital meet Kodak Film

  1. Derek Wright says:

    Personally I think it is a nice image but doesn’t really replicate film all that well. The original image is to heavily processed, to the point that it doesn’t really replicate any film. When it comes to cross processing films all have very different effects. A film like Kodak E100VS for instance goes super saturated and contrasty while Fuji Sensia 100 goes red and Provia 100 goes green. The digital image you have produced shows none of these qualities and just looks like an over edited digital image.

    With regards to the original image of the surfer there is just far to much detail for it to look like a film image. For example, you would never have a perfectly exposed sun with perfect detail on the surfer and in the whites of the waves. There are almost no shadow details in the photo which seems quite strange. Film does not have this huge, almost HDR like, dynamic range.

    Stand alone though I think it is very nice and certainly fun effect.

  2. […] a world without film. There is something about film which digital can’t reproduce…hey I’ve tried…its not the same. So to all the film users out there I salute you. You are the photographers, the […]

  3. […] a world without film. There is something about film which digital can’t reproduce…hey I’ve tried…its not the same. So to all the film users out there I salute you. You are the photographers, the […]

  4. […] Fujifilm Digital meet Kodak Film (leighdiprose.com) […]

What do you think?

